Vivaldi’s Four Seasons in Venice’s Church of La Pieta

 

Orchestra Virtuosi Italiani. Photo by Richard Varr

Orchestra Virtuosi Italiani. Photo by Richard Varr

I’ve seen many classical concerts throughout Europe – small string ensembles furiously bowing Baroque-era selections from the classics of Mozart, Beethoven, Haydn, Bach and Telemann, to name a few.  Performed in 17th and 18th century churches along medieval streets and squares, I imagine I’m actually listening to the famous composers themselves.

Richard with Antonio Aiello.

Richard with Antonio Aiello.

During my April trip to Venice, however, there was something particularly special about listening to a group of virtuoso violinists playing Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons in the church of La Pieta — even with scaffolding all around us — where the composer was music director from 1703 until 1740.  “When I was a child, I always hoped to play in this church,” says violinist Antonio Aiello, the soloist playing this night.  “I like Vivaldi and Bach, and this is a dream for me to play every week here as a soloist or with my orchestra.”

Inside the church of La Pieta with Tiepolo fresco above. Photo by Richard Varr

Inside the church of La Pieta with Tiepolo fresco above. Photo by Richard Varr

Construction began in 1745 on the current church building on the same site, situated on Venice’s most popular promenade, the waterside Riva degli Schiavoni off the pale green-tinted lagoon.   Built just a few years after Vivaldi’s death in 1741, he never saw the new building with Giambattista Tiepolo’s ceiling fresco, Triumph of Faith, painted in 1755.  “When I enter the church and see the Tiepolo fresco above and the balcony where Vivaldi was a conductor, I watch the balcony when I play and imagine Vivaldi is watching,” continues Aiello.   “When I play as a soloist, I become very emotional.”

 

VIDEO:  The following are two video clips of this fabulous concert!

Leave a Reply

